On the Road – New Mexico

Last week we went to one of our favorite places, Taos, NM. It has been a tradition since Crey turned 6 to ski for his birthday (and several times in-between birthdays). Here are some thoughts from the road between I-40 and Taos.

I have so many thoughts flooding my head right now. I absolutely love this drive! There is a point on this road, where you are at the top of a hill looking down the road and as it gently slopes downhill it is perfectly straight as far as the eye can see. It’s a “wow” moment and we comment on it every time we get to that point. Then, as you begin to exit the plains, rocks start to jut randomly out of nowhere. Further down the road, the rocks turn to hills and eventually the hills to mountains.

It’s so serene and beautiful and untouched. The skies are the bluest skies I’ve ever seen. And the clouds the whitest. And the stars the brightest. This place is pure magic!

There is an energy about New Mexico that makes you feel alive! As the plains turn to hills, it is everything and nothing all at the same time. I look at the layered red rocks protruding from the earth, and the piles of boulders. This, to me, is like looking at every moment in history all at once. I didn’t pay close enough attention in history class, so I don’t know what it all means but suddenly I want to learn. When I look at the layers in the rocks I know each represents an era. Dinosaurs, ancient peoples, wild horses and fierce warrior tribes, heards, dust, wagon trains, settlers, ranchers, tourists along Route 66 with it’s fabulous signs and buildings, skiers, hikers, outdoorsmen and artists and tourists. It’s like time travel! And then there are the people. The Taos Pueblo Indians have been here since before the time of Christ. Some people believe Christ was here. Some are hippies, others just “plain old” cowboys. But…they all have one thing in common. They all have spirit. They all have a spark in their eye. There is an energy here. And I love it. I can’t explain it. I love watching history go by at 70mph.

20140214-113926.jpg

20140214-113940.jpg

20140214-113954.jpg

Share your thoughts!

